Maritime Angus Association

Awards and Honours

Commercial Producer of the Year

The Maritime Angus Commercial Breeder of the Year is awarded to a commercial breeder who uses Angus Influence in their own program and is a promoter of the Angus breed. The award was established in 2000 with Buddy Loane being the inaugural recipient. It is typically awarded at the Maritime Angus Field Day which rotates among the three Maritime provinces. The host province of the Field Day is responsible for selecting the recipient. There is a standard nomination form to help in the selection. The winner is presented with their award at the Annual General Meeting or a mutually agreed upon event as well as announced on our social media channels and website.

2023 Commercial Producer of the Year: Steve and Sue Darragh, Orchard Hill Farms

MAS 2023 MAA Commercial Breeder

2022 Commercial Producer of the Year: Don and Geraldine Bettle, Passekeag Holdings Inc

2022 MAA Commercial Breeder

Past Maritime Angus Commercial Producers:

Province |  Year  |  Commercial Breeder

PEI  |  2021  |  John & Albert Ready
NB  |  2020  |  Not Awarded due to COVID-19
NS  |  2019  |  The Withrow Family, Rocky Knoll Farm
PEI  |  2018  |  Morrison Farms Inc, Brian, Krista, Daisy & Ben
NB  |  2017  |  Bev & Krista McMutrie, Springhill Farms
NS  |  2016  |  Catherine & Dean Manning
PEI  |  2015  |  James & Grace MacLaurin, Cottage View Farms
NB  |  2014  |   Weldon & Lawrence Estabrooks

Canadian Honourary President

The Honourary President is nominated by the host province of the Maritime Angus Field Day. The title of Honourary President is given for recognition without the usual requirements, duties, and privileges that formally go along with the role of the president. A pin is presented to the recipient at the Canadian Angus Association Annual General Meeting and they are recognized in the CAA Annual Report.

Isabel and John MacKinnon
Isabel and John MacKinnon

2020 Honourary President: John MacKinnon, MacKinnon Homestead - Kinross, PEI

John MacKinnon was born in Kinross, PEI and lived on the homestead until marrying Isabel in 1958. They bought the farm next door and together they raised four daughters. The family established a herd of Hereford cattle as part of a mixed, self-sufficient farm. Over the years, the herd was transitioned to Angus-influenced cattle which were fed for the Atlantic Beef Products plant in Albany, PEI.

John purchased his first purebred Angus heifer from JEM Farms in 2008 for his grandson, Patrick Holland, to show at the CJA Showdown the following summer. That purchase led to the establishment of the MacKinnon Homestead purebred Angus herd. Over the years, John and his family have exhibited Angus cattle at exhibitions throughout the Maritimes and at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair.

John was a strong proponent of youth involvement in agriculture and was a 4-H leader for over 20 years. He dedicated the vast majority of his 91 years to his family and the community he lived in. John passed away this past winter and will be greatly missed by the Angus family.

Congratulations to John MacKinnon on being named Honourary President!

Past Maritime Angus Honourary Presidents:

2020 - John MacKinnon
2019 - Peter Estabrooks
2018 - Charlie Mackenzie
2017 - Ernie Mutch
2016 - Les Cail
2015 - Milton & Mary Palmer
2014 - Jim Colodey
2013 - Vacant
2012 - Harold Nielsen
2011 - Les Halliday
2010 - Fred Welch
2009 - Hilda Colodey
2008 - Eric Dixon
2007 - Bill Pryor
2006 - Betty Lou Scott
2005 - Glenn Ford
2004 - Gary Hudson
2003 - Arthur Conrad
2002 - Mack Dixon
2001 - Alton Chown
2000 - Bill Scott
1999 - Temple Stewart
1998 - Earl Moffitt
1997 - Issac Smith
1996 - Harry (Buddy) Loane (PEI)