Loading Events

Events

FCC Virtual Event: Walking the Talk – Mental Health in Agriculture

  • This event has passed.
Gain a greater awareness and understanding of mental health in agriculture.

Date and time

Tue, November 2, 2021

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MDT

Add to calendar

About this event

“Farmers are more likely to participate in support programs offered by providers familiar with agriculture and that cater to the unique needs of farmers” — FMC Healthy Minds, Healthy Farmers Report.

Join Do More Agriculture’s Lauren Van Ewyk, a registered social worker, foster mom and mental health advocate, for an invaluable session with three goals in mind.

  1. That you’ll walk away with greater awareness and understanding of mental health
  2. You can access this training in the cab of your tractor or at the office
  3. To break down barriers and dispel the stigma through talking, asking and listening

What you’ll learn

• Signs and symptoms of mental illness, anxiety, depression, stress and substance use

• Mental health statistics and factors unique to agriculture

• What support looks like depending on your education, experience, and training

• How to talk to someone who may be experiencing a mental health challenge.

• How to support others, yourself and access resources

• Self-care and prevention strategies for mental wellness

 

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

2 p.m. EST Find the webinar time for your area.

  • St. Johns, N.L. | 3:30 p.m. NDT
  • Halifax, N.S. | 3 p.m. ADT
  • Ottawa, Ont. | 2 p.m. EDT
  • Winnipeg, Man. | 1 p.m. CDT
  • Regina, Sask. | 12 p.m. CST
  • Edmonton, Alta. | 12 p.m. MDT
  • Vancouver, B.C. | 11 a.m. PDT